About Us

Share this

Inside this section you should find out all you need to know about us and how you can join in.

We do endeavour to keep things up to date as far as possible but if there is something you think is wrong or are unsure about, please contact one of us by one of the various ways and we will point you in the right direction.

Looking forward to hearing from you and seeing you at one of our events.


The Norfolk and Suffolk Branch of the Morris Minor Owners Club was formed in 1980, making us one of the oldest Branch’s in the MMOC.

Club Chairman John Frye had organised a “Minor Goose Chase” on April 20th in that year, and during this event it was decided to form a Norfolk branch of the MMOC. In the ensuing months John advertised in “Minor Matters” and the local press and a meeting was arranged in the Bell Hotel in Norwich.

The Branch was finally formed in August 1980, when around 24 people made contact. Subsequent meetings were arranged on a monthly basis at Brampton Village Hall. It was decided to call us “The Iceni Club”; Iceni being the followers of Boudicca who roamed East Anglia (as we do).

Many people came from Suffolk as well as Norfolk, hence the “Norfolk and Suffolk Branch”. A further “Goose Chase” (Treasure Hunt) was organised for the following May and from there on an annual “Eastern Regional Rally” was arranged by the Branch.

Bryan Gostling took over as Chairman of the Branch following the 1981 Annual General Meeting when John stepped down due to his National Committee commitments. Bryan remained in this post until 2005 when Owen Smith took over.

Our Chairman now is Carolyn Hancock, taking over from Mary Huggins at our Annual General Meeting in 2021. Chris Smedley was Secretary from 1980 until 1984 when Tricia Capps (now Loades) took over the role at the age of 19 and remains in that post today. A lady called Pam King was the Treasurer for the first year, then Bryan and Chris did the Treasurer’s job between them after that and then Bob Finch took on the role in 1982.

Chris Smedley became Treasurer in 1984 and in 2005 Jacky Lloyd took over the role and is still in the post today. The post of Vice-Chairman was created in 1993 when Bob Finch was elected, with Martin Wallis taking on the post from 1998 to 2010. Wendy Talbot became Vice-Chairman in 2017 until 2019 when Carolyn Hancock took on this role. As of 2021 we have scrapped this post, as we had nobody interested in becoming Vice-Chairman.

Our members have a varied range of cars of all conditions and we display at various rallies in and around Norfolk and Suffolk, and sometimes further a field to visit places of particuar interest.

We produce a bi-monthly newsletter from September until February when newsletters then become monthly. In them are details of future events, as well as cars for sale and articles by members.

We are a friendly Branch and our main aim is to enjoy ourselves and cars in the company of others.


During the 1980’s and 1990’s we organised what was known as the Norfolk Auto jumbles which were held at Arnall Capps workshops at Thurton.

Over the years we were able to donate a large amount of money to charity. Take a look at our Noticeboard section with a list of all the recipients and a photo of our Branch charity board.

Share this